Beyond the Due Date

We’ve passed the due date.  It’s amazing how a date on the calendar can have so much impact on our lives:

  • graduations
  • weddings
  • vacations
  • birthdays

It is my hope that Baby ____ will hold out until Tuesday.  If so, he’ll share a birthday with his Godmother.  I jokingly told her that I’ll never have to buy her a birthday gift again.  She agreed.  I guess it’s unofficially settled.  However, I realize that this is his show, not mine.  So we continue to wait until the big day, uh, contraction.

10/13/12: Happy Due Date Day!

What is baby boy up to this week?

It’s hard to say for sure how big your baby will be, but the average newborn weighs about 7 1/2 pounds (a small pumpkin) and is about 20 inches long. His skull bones are not yet fused, which allows them to overlap a bit if it’s a snug fit through the birth canal during labor. This so-called “molding” is the reason your baby’s noggin may look a little conehead-ish after birth. Rest assured — it’s normal and temporary. Source

My 40 week appointment is scheduled for tomorrow morning.  Big decisions can be made based on what we discover.  We’ll find out how much Baby ___ weighs and if my amniotic fluid levels are up to par.  We’ll also be able to decide if we want to induce or let it ride until 41 weeks.

I cannot believe that this may be the last weekly pregnancy update.  I’ll keep you posted.

About Mika

One woman's quest to eat healthy, run a 5K and maintain her sanity.

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment